Session 3 – Graph editor

Screen Shot 2015-02-20 at 15.32.09

For the third session of Maya we were introduced to the graph editor. After recapping last sessions shortcuts and motions we were taught how to refine the animations using the graph editor. From above it is clear to see the graph works with Distance over Time. We were shown the tangents and curves that bring the character into the animation.

DS_GraphEditor

The first exercise was to show the different tangents on these balls. As you can see they are very different from one another. From top to bottom:

1. Exaggerated ease in

2. Exaggerated ease out

3. Stepped

4. Linear

5. Auto

Learning these tangents enables me to understand what I can do using the graph editor.

v1 v2 angle1

The second exercise was to create a putting scene where the ball is putted into the hole. Using blocking I set the keyframes for a basic formation of the scene. The first clip shows these movements. I then developed further using what I had learnt with the graph editor, by experimenting with the tangents I could add character to the motions. In particular on the putter; easing in and out. The last clip shows a clear example of structured timing and easing. Creating multiple playblasts from various angles allows me to perfect the animation and gives a new perspective that can be more intriguing to watch.

Untitled-5

Untitled-6 Untitled-7

The final task was to make a hammer hit the nail into the wood. Using the same principles as the golf exercise, I blocked each position first and refined it using the graph editor. However, this exercise was slightly different as I had to push down the nail without any inbetween movements, therefore I used the Stepped tangent. This tangent enables no distance over time, only where the keyframe is placed, it takes steps one by one. This enabled the nail to appear realistic and coincided with the hammer.

Leave a comment